top of page

Education: Shaping the Next Generation of Leaders


EDUCATION

Shaping the Next Generation of Leaders

"Intelligent people are always ready to learn. Their ears are open for knowledge."

Proverbs 18:15


Education is an important piece that serves as an opportunity to solely, develop and personally strengthen an individual to prepare them in life. Education is often underestimated by those who don’t recognize the power and influence that it holds.


It is unfortunate that parents don’t encourage their children to take hold of the many opportunities that this country has to offer. Some of the many opportunities our country offers are education, a career, a home, and so forth. Today I want to focus on the opportunity we have to obtain an education.


When an individual seeks an education, an individual doesn’t only obtain a career and financial security but they also gain knowledge, a character, social skills, and become part of the growth and development of the nation. By seeking an education, one obtains a clear understanding of their future, their vision and values, the mind is empowered and enriched, a perspective of life is developed, there is a clear understanding of yourself, a clear understanding of the individual’s strengths, weaknesses, and capabilities. During the process of obtaining an education, a character within is discovered... and that's a beautiful thing.


According to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, the Latino population is found to be the lowest percentage of those who have obtained a Bachelor degree or a higher education. To top that, Latinos are among the highest percentage of those who have less than a high school diploma – to be exact, they are 4x less than Asians.


According to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, 27.7% of Latinos have less than a High School diploma, 30.3% have obtained a High School Diploma, 15.2% have some college, 8.2% have an Associate’s degree, and only 18.6 have obtained a Bachelor degree. As you can see, the numbers decrease the higher the degree. For Black or African Americans there is a 8.2% who have obtained a high school diploma, 31.3% have obtained a high school diploma, 21.8% have attended some college, 11.8% have obtained an associate degree, and 27.3% have obtained a bachelor degree or higher.


I often ask myself why are the percentages so low? Why haven’t some understood the importance of obtaining an education? Why aren’t our Latino families encouraging our children to go to college and seek a higher education? Why aren’t we emphasizing the importance of being persistent, disciplined, and focused when in the process of seeking to obtain a degree?


A degree doesn’t make you better than anyone nor it qualifies you but it prepares you to become a lawful citizen of your country. When you seek an education, you become part of those who lay a foundation for a stronger nation. In order to have qualified leaders to lead our nation, we must encourage our children to become part of the growth and development of the nation. When our generation prepares themselves, they become competent to take onto leadership roles in organizations. Therefore, we have a generation that is well prepared and individuals who can carry out the task efficiently.


I am honored to have established the first generation in this beautiful country. I come from a generation who was unfortunate and didn’t have enough money to sustain themselves every day. My Grandmother had a total of 11 children and didn’t have enough money to provide to her children from the fundamental needs such as a home and food to the essential needs such as clothes, shoes, and an education. My mother tells me stories of how in need her family was financially as they were growing up in their country. Because I have heard the painful stories of my past generations, I understand the freedom, honor, and privilege that I have now.


Now, more than 30 years later my Mother has established a new generation, a career, a home, an education; this country gave her the opportunity to finish high school, receive a certification in the medical field, and attend college. My Mother has taught me through her actions the importance of dedication and perseverance.


I’ve realized that although families have moved to a new country, their state of mind remains the same. Often, a generation is stagnant due to the seeds that are placed by their ancestors – those seeds of doubt, fear, poverty, and insufficiency are placed in the minds and hearts of adolescents and teenagers. Due to the parents’ upbringing, children are growing up, limiting themselves on what they can achieve in a country full of opportunity.


My heart goes out to those who had to sacrifice so much for a better future. I write this article because I understand what is like to start from the bottom. I remember there were moments in my life where I couldn't even afford to sustain myself financially due to my poor financial, educational, and career decisions. Of course, I haven’t reached my ultimate goal but I am running towards it and I want others to run towards their own too.


I want to see a generation who rises to take hold of the many opportunities that our Father has prepared for us. I want to see a generation who is effectively, efficiently, and successfully leading our nation in various industries and positions. In order to diminish poverty, a new generation must rise to possess what our parents and ancestors had to fight for. If you are that person who had to sacrifice, I honor and thank you. Now, please lead your future generations to rise because a bright future awaits to those who press on.


bottom of page