top of page

Professional Development in the Culture we were Raised in

I feel so privileged to work in a very respected field as a Mediator to all employees- the Human Resources Department. I am involved in anything from employee relations to recruiting. Currently, I am recruiting for a few open positions.


Today, I want to focus on one specific role that we have open. I’ve been in the hunt for a specific candidate who can service a high profile and important customer for my company with simple skills such as organizing, follow-up skills, customer service skills, and basic Microsoft skills. With that said, we are specifically looking for a candidate who is fluent in Spanish for business reasons. This role is an entry-level position and it’s a great start to a career in a company where you can learn so much. Keep in mind, my company is located in a city highly populated with Spanish speakers- Hispanics. A few weeks ago, I opened the position online in a platform where anyone and everyone have access to apply. I’ve gotten in contact with potential professional candidates who have great skills & might be a good fit for our company culture yet they don’t speak Spanish.


I honestly have to ask, where are my Spanish speaking professionals? Why aren’t Latinos getting professionally prepared? Or are they? I’ve gotten in contact with a few qualified candidates but for some reason they don’t make it to the next step. Why aren’t we, as Latinos seeking to grow professionally, and gain certain skills to use in the workforce, & be qualified for simple yet great office positions as the one stated above? I do have to point out- this is not a blog to minimize certain race or to say that Latinos should be better but to encourage my Latino family to prepare themselves professionally.


Let me share with you my story- ten years ago when I started college, I wasn’t where I wanted to be professionally, educationally, & mentally but I challenged myself to grow. I was in college for seven years, two years at a university finishing my undergrad degree and I am now enrolled in Graduate school. Professionally speaking I started as a Visual Merchandiser, then became a Lead Cashier, then a Bank Teller.


Years ago, all I wanted to do is to become someone- I wanted to do something with my life. Unfortunately, I didn’t graduate as every teenager does. I flunked many of my high school classes because of the lack of attention from my parents and the immature decisions that I took as a teenager. I was supposed to graduate high school in the Spring of 2005 yet received my high school diploma until Spring of 2008. Although it took me three years to receive my high school diploma I didn’t give up. I feared being stagnant in any place due to my limited skills, education, and resources. I knew education was MY key to succeed in life- education was a way for me to step out of poverty.


I started college in Fall of 2008 and completed my A.A. in Spring of 2015. That same Spring of 2015, I started my B.S.- all at the same time! Now, I am enrolled in a Graduate program and I am on my way to completing my M.A. Through that process, I had to mold my character, behavior, and attitude, change my perspectives and processes of dealing with scenarios and problems.


In 2015, I decided to set myself some career goals. I wanted to be an employee’s mediator in the HR department. After so many interviews & rejection because of the lack of experience, in the Fall of 2016 a door opened up. I got my foot in the field & here I am. Through the process, I would ask and ask... and ask and ask God to give me the wisdom to make the best decision for me- educationally and professionally. Little by little, I found my passions, my skills, my abilities, my gifts and learned to use them in my profession. So far, I've discovered that my passion is found in teaching, encouraging, helping, leading, explaining, mentoring, and guiding.


It is important that I mention the time that it took me to go from one place to the other because things don’t come quick –when setting goals, persistency and consistency are key factors. Also, sometimes it takes some times to reap what you’ve sown. Perhaps it will take you about seven years as I did to finish college or accomplish a goal but keep in mind that the time that you are investing in your education or profession will pay off –YOU WILL REAP. In Galatians 6:7-9 says,” So let’s not get tired of doing what is good. At just the right time we will reap a harvest of blessing if we don’t give up”.


I am so blessed to have the family that I have yet unfortunately, I was never taught a few important life principles. I was never taught to fight for what I want in life. I was never taught that education and professional advancement were important. I also wasn’t taught the importance of constant change and development in our lives. I was the first generation who was born and raised in the United States- I don’t blame my family for not teaching me certain life principles. While I was growing up and attending school, they were fighting to make a living in a WHOLE new country with a WHOLE new lifestyle- so I understand them.


Although our culture unconsciously leads us to settling for less, I encourage you to set high goals. Although our culture unconsciously leads us to working hard at a minimum wage job, I encourage you to prepare yourself and work your way up. Although our culture lead us into believing that there isn’t much to life but to get married, have children, and work -I encourage you to prepare yourself educationally, build your career, prepare yourself for marriage and a family, and also enjoy your blessings in life.


I enjoy sharing my story because I want to simply encourage you to dream big, set goals, risk, trust in God, & seek God to help you accomplish them. I understand that we all have certain circumstances, but your circumstances shouldn’t affect your desire to grow in all ways- whether if it is spiritually, mentally, educationally, or professionally. Your age doesn’t matter, your current role doesn’t matter, and where you are at emotionally doesn’t matter. What matters is the discipline you give yourself to prepare yourself to advance in life.




bottom of page